h1

Community Property

April 7, 2009

George: Community property is a law that says half of everything you’ve got is mine, and half of everything I’ve got is yours.

Gracie: Then how come I only get one-fourth of everything we make?

George: I’ll show you how it works. Here in my hand I’ve got a dollar in change. Half of everything I’ve got is yours. Here’s fifty cents. Half of everything you’ve got is mine. How much have you got there?

Gracie: Fifty cents.

George: Okay, give me a quarter. There, see how it works?

Gracie: This time I’ll start with the dollar. Now, half of everything I’ve got is yours. Here’s fifty cents. And…and how does that second part go again?

George: And half of everything you’ve got is mine. How much have you got?

Gracie: Fifty cents.

George: Fine. Give me a quarter.

Gracie: Oh, now I see how it works.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a Reply

