h1

A Full Family Life for Mrs. Burns

May 25, 2009

From Life Magazine, September 22, 1958

Gracie and grandchildren
Gracie spends a contented day at her Beverly Hills home.  Lori, 4, and Lissa, 2, are Sandra’s daughters.  Here Gracie twists a curl into place on Lissa before joining a card game.

At the Races
Retired comic puts her hopes on a horse and wears a loser’s look as she and daughter Sandra wait for the next race at Hollywood Park.

With Ronnie Burns
Gracie talks with her son Ronnie in the studio where George is shooting a new series.  Ronnie sings and acts in it.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

36 comments

  1. THERE WILL NEVER BE ANOTHER COMEDY TEAM LIKE BURNS & ALLEN. I WOULD LOVE TO GET A “COMPETE” COLLECTION OF THEIR TV SERIES. I MISS THEM.


  2. Well I was trying to find out what has become of Sandra Burns, the adopted daughter of George and Gracie. Now after seein many pix of George and Gracie, I STILL have no idea as to what has become of Sandra. I understand that Ronnie died of cancer in 2007. What was her life like as a child of theirs. Many celebrities have, and adopt children for the wrong reasons, only to promote their own careers. I am curious to find out about her life. Was she and Ronnie cut of of Burns & Allen’s will ?


  3. I want to know EXACTLY what WILL WILLARD ASKED!


  4. HELLO,I MET RONNIE AND SANNY AT A RELATIVE HOME IN BALTIMORE,MD WHEN I WAS VERY YOUNG.I WAS INTRODUCED TO THEIR PARENTS,GEORGE BURNS AND GRACIE ALLEN.LATER ON THE FAMILY SAID THAT MY BROTHER AND MY SELF WERE RELATED TO GRACIE BY OUR GRANDFATHER CRAWFORD ALLEN.IF SANDRA IS STILL AROUND,I WOULD LIKE TO SAY HELLO.MY P.O.BOX IS 29043,SANTA FE,N.M. 87592.THANKS,GARY L ALLEN


  5. Sandra Burns-Day died on August 12 in Newton Massachusetts.


  6. Sandra Burns’ married name was Sandra Luckman. She left show business to be a stay at home Mother and raise her family. This was even when Gracie was still alive. I loved Burns & Allen and have many items of theirs. I even have a Cigar Holder, George gave me when I was in the audience and he learned that it was my birthday and that I loved to smoke Cigars. We even traded. I gace him a Bering for 2 of his El Productos. It was the best birthday I ever had. God bless George and Gracie. They’re up their making God and Jack Benny laugh for eternity. Love to George & Gracie. I guess I will see you after my 100th Birthday so I have 40 more years to go. You were the best Comedy Team ever.


  7. Sandra was my great grandmother, Her daughter is still alive.


  8. Wow! I am so sorry to hear that she has passed. I have really become very interested in the family of George and Gracie as of late. They appear to have been a solid family.


  9. what did sandra burns luckman die from?


  10. Like someone else above I too am interested in learning more about the life of Sandra. You’re supposed to be able to learn anything on line and I am so frustrated i couldn’t even learn her age and cause of death. The only photo was of her at the racetrack with her mother Gracie.

    I was most interested in knowing what her relationship was like with her father during the years after her mother passed away

    George was one of the most interesting and likable human beings I have ever seen and it is important to me to know that he was loved and how he related to both his children.


    • Judging by quotes from her in Martin Gottfried’s GEORGE BURNS and THE 100 YEAR DASH, Sandra remained close to her father right to the end, as was son Ronnie. Published shortly before Burns’ death in 1996, “100 YEAR DASH” was the most revealing warts-and-all expose ever offered on the life of Burns, and was written with the cooperation of both children. Later photos of Sandra are hard to find. The most “recent” Sandra pic I’ve seen was a snapshot in the book, DEAR GEORGE, an obvious play by Burns and his writers on the popular Dear Abby column. Published circa 1980, it was not one of Burns’ most successful books.


      • Dear john thanks for the info on the Burns family …. wish my wit was as fast or some would say slow as the comic duo of Burns and Allen life was as different then as a college in new mexico that existed for a moment in time.


        • MARY ANDRE? AS IN, MARY ANDRE FROM THE U OF ALBUQUERQUE? I DIDN’T KNOW YOU WERE A BURNS & ALLEN GROUPIE LIKE ME!


  11. Is Sandra still alive? Does she ever attend public events?


  12. I met Sandra in Coloma, Ca. when she was married to Steve Luckman–they owned a campground. I lived in a tent there and worked for them teaching pottery for the summer. I returned to San Diego, and after her divorce she moved to Mission Beach–that is where I met her four daughters. Sandra was friendly, easy to be with, but never seemed very happy. She was closer to her father than her mother, but it was hard on both of her and Ronny growing up in a boarding school. She drank quite a bit, and called me one day as she was making candles and had poured some on her arm and hand which left severe burns. She worked for awhile at the San Diego City School system as a secretary…not really for the money, but for something to do after the children left home. Sandra’s father visited her on occasion, and I am sure that he and Gracie provided for both children after their passing. She was a good friend and I have many fond memories of days at the beach laughing, laying in the sun and sitting on the boardwalk people watching. She was quite a character and very personable. I loved telling people ” she is George Burns daughter and she drives around in a yellow voltswagon bug!!! ” She never acted like she was anything special, that is what I liked about her….very down to earth. You are missed Sandra!!!


    • Yes, she is missed. But, I’ve been curious– heard nothing about her passing in the media, let alone cause of death, which seems fitting given her private lifestyle. Ronnie’s death from cancer was reported in some media, especially in California. But Sandra’s was not, as far as I know. I imagine she was close to 80.


      • I know, there was nothing in the media about her death. I lost touch with her a little after I got married and she started working as a secretary. She was about 20 years older than I, so yes, I do believe you are correct on her age.


        • So has she passed or is she still alive? Its a bit unclear? Any info on her children where they settled or Ronnie’s children. I’m a big Burns and Allen fan as well. It is upsetting that Gracie was so talented and didn’t get the credit and awards(As did Lucelle Ball did)that she truly and rightfully deserved!


  13. Ronnie attended Black-Foxe Military school for a while in Calfornia.
    I know, because l my brother was the Cadet Major there. I knew George quite well. Spend many lunches with him. He was always
    a triple-A gentlemen. Did you know he was the only one allowed to smoke at a club he belong to? There was a sign that said “No smoking except for George BUrns!” My brother dated Sandy a few times, but I never met her. Only met Gracie once. Ronnie was always in money troubles. I was in George’s office several times when Ronnie was on the telephone asking for more. George would turn to his Secretary Jack and say “Send Ronnie a few thousand
    dollars”. Ronnie never found his place in life….sadly.


  14. Wow Jerry, very interesting about Ronnie. I heard things that were similar. What was you impression of Gracie when you met her? I often heard of George being a really nice person as well. thanks for the info Steve S.


    • Gracie was a lovely lady. She really didnt want to stay in the spotlight. George had to talk her into appearing on the show. She didnt feel it was her real self.


      • Its truly a shame that she never won an emmy for her acting on the show. As it was seen during the one season(1959)of the George Burns Show her absence was really missed and proved fatal to the show. Also was a shame she died before all the “nostelgia” of the 50′s took place I guess it was in the early to mid 70′s. I’m sure she would have received the attention and admiration she deserved when The Burns and Allen Show started to be re-played.


  15. Thanks everyone for the info on Ronnie and Sandra. You have answered all my questions.


  16. Sandy is alive and still lives in Mission Beach. Sandy has a condo on the boardwalk, and she sits out in front and talks to everyone. We call her Saush, however you spell it LOL. I just saw her in June 2011, I live out of state, went home to MB for family reunion, I stopped by to visit with Sandy while I was home. Sandy’s daughter Grace is very very close to my family, we have 12 kids in my family we consider Grace the 13th child. Grace is like George, she has a heart of gold, always helping someone.


    • Hi Linda. I’m a big Burns and Allen fan. I have read just about every book there is on both George and Gracie the last one being “The women who made TV funny. Is there any sites that you know of that might have photos of George and Gracie that might not be so well know. I’m especially interested in pictures of Gracie if there were any that were taken say after 1960. I saw the one on Ebay of her Mrs. Jack Benny and another favorite of mine, Bobby Darin that was taken after one of his shows I guess the ones he did with George.That was taken in 1960. My email is lionelkid1@hotmail.com Thanks. Stephen Sannicandro Brooklyn, New York


      •  Photo E-mail View slideshow | Download images I attended Black-Foxe Military school in Hollywood with Ronnie. My brother dated Sandy. He was also in school with us. George and I became very close. We often met at his office, and went out to lunch. I didn’t see Gracie as often, but I did know her. (And Jack and Mary Benny as well. Did you know that Gracie never wore a long sleeved top because of scars on her arm. And she only stayed on the show because George wanted her to. I remember when we had lunch at his club, there was a sign on the wall saying: ‘No smoking. Except for George Burns.”

        To: jmp701@msn.com Sent: Thursday, March 14, 2013 7:37 PM Subject: [New comment] A Full Family Life for Mrs. Burns

        Stephen Sannicandro commented: “Hi Linda. I’m a big Burns and Allen fan. I have read just about every book there is on both George and Gracie the last one being “The women who made TV funny. Is there any sites that you know of that might have photos of George and Gracie that might not b”


        • Hi Jerry. I sent you an email. If you have images of George and Gracie and would like to share them with me and can do so via my email addy I’d appreciate that. I’m not sure if I missed something with what you put in your opening about a slideshow?????I wasn’t able to open anything. Much Thanks Steve


          • I have several pics of George, but none of Gracie. you can email me if you wish. jmp701@msn.com JERRY

            To: jmp701@msn.com Sent: Thursday, March 14, 2013 10:08 PM Subject: [New comment] A Full Family Life for Mrs. Burns

            Stephen Sannicandro commented: “Hi Jerry. I sent you an email. If you have images of George and Gracie and would like to share them with me and can do so via my email addy I’d appreciate that. I’m not sure if I missed something with what you put in your opening about a slideshow?????I w”


  17. Sorry Jerry but what I should have mentioned also was that presently I am at the job and using the PC there. I have limited access to anything and cannot open my personal emails here. I have to wait to get home at 7AM to view my mail. Thanks again! Steve


  18. I tape the “Burns and Allen” show every night on antenna TV. They are a hoot.


  19. Hi, it is so strange, i was about 10 years old when my mom watched the burns show i remember thinking they were so old but so funny.
    I just recently found the reruns and the first time i watched i was so suprised that they look young..They are still so funny.


  20. I watch the Burns and Allen almost every night, always loved that show. Would like to see pictures of ronnie and sandra in their later years with their Children and Grandchldren and Spouses. Thank You


  21. –Enjoyed seeing photos and reading this thread. Thank you for posting!


  22. Thanks to George’s Big Screen success in the ’70s, i.e. The Sunshine Boys and Oh God, the Burns & Allen TV series exploded in popularity in the late ’70s. Episodes were broadcast over many local channels, while CBN’s family programming featured B&A twice daily, including an afternoon showing. A re-awakened TV audience simply fell in love again with George & Gracie.

    The excitement subsided though following Burns’ passing in ’96. In a rare TV appeance in 2000 (?), son Ronnie told TV talk icon Larry King that a Burns & Allen website project was underway. Ronnie died in ’07, and nobody seems to know for sure the fate of daughter Sandra. I personally believe Sandra could not have “passed” unnoticed by at least local media in California. An exhaustive search on-line, including randomly selected probate jurisdictions, have turned up no mention of her death. Fascinating, huh?


    • Forgot to mention (above) that Ronnie’s appearance on Larry King is available in 4-parts on YouTube. Just Google George Burns 100 Years of Laughter. King’s guests include Ronnie, Caroll Channing, writer Larry Gelbart, Allan King and others. Sorry, Sandy was absent.


  23. Wow,interesting..I jus t wondered about George and stumbled on all this…so cool…but I thought I ready on wiki that she also died:(



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

