h1

Political Party Identification

July 27, 2009

Gracie: Frank, I just sent a telegram to my campaign chairman in the Middle West.

Frank: Oh, good.

Gracie: He told me he couldn’t get any support from the farm belt.

George: So what?

Gracie: So I told him to wear suspenders.

Geroge: What if the county seat has two pairs of pants.

Gracie: Oh, George, you’re just trying to say stuff to get me to say silly things so people will laugh at me.

George: That’s bad, huh?

Truman: Gracie, what is going to be the name of your party?

Gracie: Well, Truman, you’ve hear of the Democratic party and the Republican party?

Truman: Yes.

Gracie: Well, mine is going to be the Surprise party.

George: The what?

Gracie: The Surprise party.  Surprise: S-U-R-P-R-I-S-E

George: S for screwy.  U for useless.

Gracie: Yeah, and R for reading, writing and arithmatic.

George: P for penhead.

Gracie: And R for oysters are in season.  And I for eye for an eye.

George: And tooth for a tooth.

Gracie: And S for some fun and E for pencil.

George: E for pencil?

Gracie: Eversharp?

George: Well, that all de-pencil on how you look at it.

Truman: Surprise Party is a swell name.  How did you come to call it that, Gracie?

Gracie: Well, my daddy’s a Democrat and my mother is a Republican and when I was born I was a surprise!

Frank, I just sent a telegram to my campaign chairman in the Middle West.

George: So was the panic of 1907.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a Reply

