h1

Dance Gimmick

December 10, 2009

Our act ended with a typical boy-girl song, which led into the both of us dancing together. During this dance we used a gimmick which I think I originated. It’s been used many times over the years–in fact, it’s still being used and it still works. Gracie and I would dance together, and four times during the number I would stop the music–we would tell a joke–and then continue dancing. It went like this:

[George and Gracie go into a dance]

George: Stop!

[music stops]

Gracie, how is your cousin?

Gracie: You mean the one who died?

George: Yeah.

Gracie: Oh, he’s fine now.

George: Music!

[music starts and the dance continues]

George: Stop!

[music stops]

Gracie, how’s your uncle Harvey?

Gracie: Oh, last night he fell down the stairs with a bottle of scotch and never spilled a drop.

George: Really?

Gracie: Yeah, he kept his mouth closed.

George: Music!

[music starts and dance continues]

George: Stop!

[music stops]

Gracie: My sister Bessie had a brand new-baby.

George: Boy or girl?

Gracie: I don’t know, and I can’t wait to get home to find out if I’m an aunt or an uncle.

George: Music!

[music starts and dance continues]

George: Stop!

[music stops]

George: A funny thing happened to my mother in Cleveland.

Gracie: I thought you were born in Buffalo.

George: Music!

[music up–and into dancing exit]

Well, that was the routine Gracie and I did the first time at the Palace. And we were really a big hit. I know, I was there.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Leave a Reply

